Search Just Soul
Home Artists Albums Interviews Events Contests Forum Store Links
Donell Jones
  Donell Jones  
Donell Jones

Inspired by his father, Donell Jones started singing at the age of eight and penned his first song when he was 12. Growing up in Chicago's Southside, he soon became part of the gangsta scene, but eventually decided to devote his life to music. Donell was discovered in 1993, during a talent showcase held in Washington D.C. by Edward "Eddie F" Ferrell, President of Untouchables Entertainment and former member of the hip-hop group Heavy D & the Boyz. He was signed to LaFace Records shortly after. Jones started penning hits for artists like Usher ('Think Of You'), Silk ('However You Want It'), 702 ('Get It Together') and Drea ('Not Gonna Letcha') and contributed to the vocal arrangements on Madonna's hit 1994 album "Bedtime Stories". 1996 saw the light of his debut album "My Heart". His first two singles, "In The Hood" and "Knocks Me Off My Feet", established him as an artist, and made him reach gold status. For his second album, entitled "Where I wanna be", Donell assembled a multi-talented group of musicians, including Eddie F. and Darren Lighty. That allowed him to win an American Music Award for Best New R&B Artist in 1999. The first single off his sophomore album, "You Know What's Up" (with a stunning remix featuring Left Eye) spent eight weeks at number one on Billboard R&B Chart, and it's possibly his biggest hit up to date. The second single, "Where I wanna be", confirmed once and for all his success, reaching number ten on 2000 Year-end Billboard R&B Chart.


Shortly after the album's release, Jones was featured on the Shaft soundtrack with "Do What I Gotta Do" as well as on Guru's and Big Punisher's albums. 2002 saw Donell back on the scene, with a new and more mature album entitled "Life Goes On", with productions from Jamie Hawkins, Clifton Lighty and Balewa Muhammad. The acclaimed single 'You Know That I Love You' , received good airplay on TV and radios worldwide. Influenced by Stevie Wonder, Michael Jackson and the Isley Brothers, singer/songwriter/producer Donell Jones fuses with his charming storytelling style and silky vocal cords R&B and Hip Hop beats to create uptempo R&B tracks and romantic ballads. Unlike many of the male solo artists today, Donell Jones combines the qualities of Soul/R&B legends (talent, emotion, love and respect for music) with the hip flavor of the 90's and according to producer and long time friend Eddie F, "Donell is going to become the most important contribution R&B since Babyface and R. Kelly".


Claudio Balestrino [Just Soul]

My Heart (1996) [LaFace/Untouchables]

  1. In the Hood (Playas Version)
  2. Knocks Me off My Feet
  3. No Interruptions
  4. Waiting On You
  5. I Want You to Know
  6. My Heart
  7. Yearnin'
  8. Wish You Were Here
  9. All About You
  10. You Should Know
  11. Natural Thang
  12. Believe in Me
  13. In the Hood (Remix)
  14. Don't Cry
  15. The Only One You Need
My Heart
My Heart
Where I Wanna Be (1999) [LaFace/Untouchables]

  1. U Know What's Up
  2. Shorty (Got Her Eyes On Me)
  3. Where I Wanna Be
  4. Have You Seen Her?
  5. This Luv
  6. All Her Love
  7. It's Alright
  8. Think About It (Don't Call My Crib)
  9. He Won't Hurt You
  10. Pushin'
  11. I Wanna Luv U
  12. When I Was Down
  13. U Know What's Up (Remix) [feat. Left Eye]
Where I Wanna Be
Where I Wanna Be
Life Goes On (2002) [LaFace/Untouchables]

  1. Still
  2. Put Me Down
  3. You Know That I Love You
  4. Where You Are (Is Where I Wanna Be) (Pt. 2)
  5. Do U Wanna
  6. Life Goes On
  7. Freakin' U
  8. Gotta Get Her (Outta My Head)
  9. Guilty By Suspicion
  10. Don't Leave
  11. Comeback
  12. I Hope It's You
  13. Girl's Friend
Life Goes On
Life Goes On
Mailinglist Contact Us About Back
© 2006 Just Soul. All Rights Reserved.